Day 30: Butternut and Broccoli Lasagna

Okay, so the truth-telling math teacher in me must confess that this is day 31, not 30 as the title implies. In all fairness, I had planned to write this post yesterday but decided instead to do a hike in the white mountains with a friend who I only get to see about once a year. It was the first big hike for baby and the first big hike in awhile for this new mama. So. Worth. It. Check out the beautiful view…and these beautiful people that I get to call family 😉

mt. hight

Family Photo Op at Mt. Hight – Elevation: 4,675′

In other news, today is the final day of my 30 Day Challenge. The bad news is: I did not succeed in emptying my freezer. The good news is: I came pretty close! My timing was not well thought out, as I just got back from being away from home on a camping trip for 9 DAYS! Taking that into consideration, I will count my attempt as a success. I will continue to use up what remains in my freezer while at the same time restocking it, yet again, for the coming fall and winter.

Knowing that my challenge was coming to an end, I got ambitious and came up with 2 separate recipes all in one day. One was a hearty rye bread and the other, which I will share, is a new-to-me twist on lasagna.

lasagna

Recipe:

1 Box Cooked Lasagna Noodles

Sauce:

2 C. Vegetable Broth (No Salt Added)

2 C. Dairy Free Milk

1 C. Walnuts

1/2 C. All Purpose Flour

1/3 C. Nutritional Yeast Flakes

1 tsp. Garlic Powder

2 tsp. Salt

Blend all ingredients together. Heat on the stove at low heat, stirring frequently until thickened.

Squash Filling:

2 Quarts Frozen Squash – Thawed and Roasted

1 Tbsp. Olive Oil

1/2 Large Onion – chopped

1 C. Garlic Scapes

1/2 tsp. Ground Sage (I’d use a bit less next time)

Saute onion and garlic scapes in the olive oil. Add the sage and the squash. Remove from heat. Mash the squash, combining the ingredients with a potato masher.

Layer in typical lasagna fashion:

Sauce

Noodles

Squash

Brocolli (I used about 3 C. of frozen broccoli, finely chopped)

Repeat

Bake at 350 for 30 – 45 minutes. So yummy!

Since my last post I’ve used many other items in: smoothies, side dishes, spaghetti sauce, and cookies. Only one thing, the frozen pumpkin, was deemed unworthy and will meet its demise in the compost pile.

I started with 45 items in my freezer that I was hoping to use up. After 30 days, (21 or less of those even being at home) I managed to use up 31 items leaving a remainder of only 14. I am pleased and will continue to be creative in the kitchen. More importantly, I will try being more creative throughout the year so that next summer, this challenge need not be repeated.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

