Day 16: Wholegrain Raspberry Pancakes

pancakes

This time around, I had a bit of a cooking disaster. I own a non-stick frying pan which I use very infrequently, really just for pancakes. I have had a bit of a hard time in the past trying to cook pancakes in my cast iron skillet which I use for EVERYTHING! I pulled out my trusty non-stick frying pan which, with age, has seemed to be getting less and less trusty. Needless to stay my pancakes didn’t just stick a little. They were glued to the pan and quickly became a scrambled pile of inedible mush. Disaster. I fired up the cast iron skillet in hopes of rescuing the remainder of the pancakes and to my delight I found success! While I felt some sadness over having to say good riddance to my old “non-stick” pan, I felt great knowing that I could indeed use my skillet. Added bonus: I had added some iron to my pancakes in the process.

If you have been following, you may have noticed that it seems like I have taken a bit of a siesta from my freezer challenge. Summer gets busy! I have been making a small dent in my freezer stash, using some frozen bananas for “ice cream” and frozen peaches for a simple desert of peaches with cream. I was away for a couple of days and there were a few days when I was so busy using up leftovers from my refrigerator that things were not pulled out of the freezer! So here we are, on day 16.

These pancakes are both healthy and delicious. The recipe is a my go-to pancake recipe. Sometimes I just make them plain, other times I add fruit or other things. Raspberries are on of my favorites.

Recipe

1 C. All Purpose Flour

1/4 C. Whole Wheat Flour

1/4 C. Quick Oats

1 Tbs. Sugar

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/2 quart Frozen Raspberries

1 Chia “Egg” (Mix 1 Tbs. Chia Seeds and 3 Tbs. Water. Allow to sit for a few minutes until a gel is formed.)

1 1/2 C. Milk

2 Tbs. Oil

Mix the dry ingredients together. Add the raspberries and stir until coated. Add the wet ingredients and stir until just combined. Cook in a frying pan and serve with your favorite toppings. I like coconut oil and REAL maple syrup.

3 qt. Strawberries

1 gal. Kale

1 qt. Swiss Chard

Some Garlic Scapes

2 qt. Blueberries

3 qt. Butternut Squash

1 qt. Corn

1 Block Vegan Cheese

3 Bananas

1 qt. Peaches

1/2 qt. Raspberries

31 more items! (Only 14 Days…Yikes!!)

Leave a Reply

