Day 6: Enchiladas

enchiladasIn celebration of Independence Day I chose to make something very *ahem* un-American. The typical 4th of July fare includes burgers and hotdogs, potato salad and watermelon, at least, that is what comes to my mind. Alas, in my plans for the day I hadn’t thought to picnic and was in the mood for some enchiladas and Spanish rice.

The following recipe is the lazy version of enchiladas. There is a noticeable difference when every element is made from scratch: the sauce, the refried beans, and the tortillas. This morning though, I had more important things to do, like sleep in with my 3 1/2 month old who graciously decided to sleep until 8. By the time we got going and I was ready to think about cooking, I didn’t want to take the time to spend longer than necessary preparing a meal I was already hungry for. So here it is, my quick and easy enchilada recipe.

Recipe

In a large skillet saute:

1/2 Onion – chopped

2 Cloves of Garlic – minced

1 Tbs. Sunflower Oil

When the onions are softened add:

2 cans Refried Beans

1 can Pinto Beans – liquid drained

Stir and heat thoroughly. When the beans are hot, add:

2 Cups Fresh Spinach – chopped

Remove the pan from the heat

For assembling the enchiladas, you will need :

1 lg. Can Enchilada Sauce

Shredded Cheese ( I used a vegan block of mozzarella)

8 Tortillas

Pour a bit of the sauce into the bottom of a casserole dish. Scoop some bean mixture into each tortilla, roll and place in the casserole dish. After all the enchiladas are in the pan, pour the remaining sauce over them. Cover with shredded cheese and bake at 375 for 20-25 minutes.

Note: The refried beans I used were new to me. They were: Trader Joes Refried Pinto Beans – Salsa Style. They had a bit of a spicy kick, just enough. Had I used plain beans, I probably would have added a few more spices.

3 qt. Strawberries

1 gal. Kale

1 qt. Swiss Chard

Some Garlic Scapes

2 qt. Blueberries

3 qt. Butternut Squash

1 qt. Corn

1 Block Vegan Cheese

33 more items

Leave a Reply

