Day 2: Sesame Tofu and Greens

sesameFor today’s challenge, I decided to tackle the frozen greens in my freezer. So far this week I have pretty much been winging it as far as menu planning is concerned. Knowing that I wanted to use up stuff in the freezer, I did a very minimal grocery shopping trip this week, getting only a few essentials like milk and fresh fruit. So when I decided today what I was going to make, I knew I needed to just utilize ingredients that I had on hand. Next week, I’ll have to get back to menu planning. It would make this challenge a bit easier!

I put some rice to cook in the rice cooker and set to work on creating this recipe.

Recipe:

Tofu

1 Block Extra Firm Tofu

1/2 Cup Liquid Aminos (or Soy Sauce)

1/4 Cup Sesame Oil

3 Tbs. Sesame Seeds

Directions: Preheat oven to 375. Thinly slice tofu and cut into triangles. Combine Liquid Aminos and Sesame Oil. In a bowl, pour sauce over tofu slices and gently stir to coat the tofu. There will be quite a bit of sauce left at the bottom of the bowl. Save this for later in the recipe. Arrange tofu on a baking sheet and bake tofu for about 30 minutes, turning once, until crispy. While the tofu bakes, prepare the following.

In a large skillet, saute:

1 Onion

1/4 C. Garlic Scapes (or 1-2 cloves of garlic)

1-2 Tbsp. Sunflower Oil (or other neutral oil)

1/2 tsp. Ground Ginger (Fresh would be great!)

When the onions are soft add:

1 gallon Frozen Kale

1 qt. Frozen Swiss Chard

(Total of about 6 Cups of Greens)

3 Carrots – shredded

Sauce left over from the tofu

Serve the greens over rice and top with the sesame tofu triangles. Enjoy!

*Note: I usually use Braggs Liquid Aminos, but ran out! While at Trader Joes a couple of weeks ago, I saw some Coconut Aminos that I thought I’d try. I used that in this recipe. I think it is sweeter and perhaps less salty than the Braggs. It added a nice flavor.

2 qt. Strawberries

1 gal. Kale

1 qt. Swiss Chard

Some Garlic Scapes

41 more items to go!

Leave a Reply

