30 Day Freezer Challenge

My name is Mary and I am a food hoarder. Seriously. I have problems.

Every summer I stock my freezer with fruits and veggies and fill my pantry with canned goods. I love fresh produce and I take full advantage, picking all I can and in turn, storing all I can. This is a good thing. I think I pick and store a reasonable amount for my small family to enjoy. The problem is that I mentally ration out the usage of said goods, using them sparingly throughout the winter because I just might run out!

Come Spring, I am left with a half-full freezer of food that we should have consumed during the winter months. So here I am again, staring into the abyss of my freezer ready to put in some freshly picked strawberries, wishing I had done things differently. I wonder, “HOW am I going to use this up so I can fill it with new stuff?”

IMG_1196 (1)

The keen observer may notice an exorbitant amount of rhubarb. That is from my mother-in-law’s garden this summer. I like rhubarb as much as the next guy, but I will have to get creative to use all of that up!

So, I have decided to present myself with a challenge. Use up all the stuff in my freezer from last summer. In 30 days. Below is an exhaustive list with approximately 45 items. That means that I must use an average of 1 1/2 items per day!

Blackberries – 1 qt.

Strawberries – 8 qt.

Blueberries – 7 qt.

Peaches – 3 qt.

Broth – 1 1/2 gal. (split into 2 bags)

Butternut Squash – 6 qt.

Swiss Chard – 1 qt.

Corn – 1 qt.

Tomatoes – 1 gal.

Apples 1 gal.

Garlic Scapes – 1 qt.

Bananas – 6

Kale – 1 gal.

Parsley – 1 qt.

Cranberry Sauce – 1 Container

Cranberries – 1/2 qt.

Soybeans (Edamame) – 1 qt.

Non-fruit/veggie items that need to be used:

  • Semi-Sweet Baking Chocolate – 1 Bar
  • Vegan Cheese – 1 Block
  • Rye Berries – 1 Bag

Time to get creative! Follow to read about my recipes and feel free to share any ideas about how I could use something up.

 

Leave a Reply

