Devotional Journaling

photo-1

So this morning I started something new during my personal devotions. I have always liked the idea of keeping a diary about my life, but have always abandoned the project soon after starting because I forget to do it for a couple of days and before I know it, it has been so long I feel embarrassed to start again! Silly, I know!

I decided to keep a journal of what I am studying and learning during my quiet time with God. There is no pressure to write the details of my life, rather it is just a synopsis of the the things I am reading and thinking about. It is nice to look back and see how God has led in the past and I think this journal will help me do that.

The format I used today is simple. I chose one scripture out of the passage that I was reading. Today it happened to be a couple of verses in Romans chapter 10 that stood out to me. After writing the verses down, I wrote down observations and cross references for the verses. I love object lessons! (Can you tell I am a teacher?!) The next thing I wrote down was an object lesson which helps clarify the message of the text. Next, I wrote about how this verse could apply to my life and lastly, I wrote a prayer praising God and asking for his help to apply the verses in my life. I got a lot out of it and look forward to seeing how this method works for me this coming year.

What are some things that you do to make your time with God more meaningful?

3 thoughts on “Devotional Journaling

  1. I love using Scripture Typer to memorize Scripture. Memorizing Scripture has become part of my daily devotional time over the last six months and it is proving to be a true blessing! Just 10 or 15 minutes a day, reviewing and learning new verses is awesome. Any time I hear a verse that I like, I pull out my phone, add the verse, and put it into my morning sequence. I highly recommend it! 😀

    “Whatever things were written before were written for our learning that we, through the patience and comfort of the Scriptures, might have hope.” Romans 15:4

    Like

    • I have started memorizing scripture as well! I have my students memorize a verse every week, and I thought I should do it along with them. I would like to dedicate a bit more of my devotional time to this as well. I will have to check that app out!
      I recently found an app made by Fountainview Academy called Scripture Singer which is also a neat one. They have put a lot of verses to music, which really helps me memorize! The downside is, they don’t have every scripture you may be looking for, but they do have a wide variety to choose from.

      Like

  2. When I was younger, I had been involved with a Christian camp during the summer. I learned some new verses from the bible (first time reading any!) and I love many of them. From what I’ve read so far it looks like I’ll be enjoying your blog 🙂 I wrote in a journal last year and am hoping to continue this year. Already have written for 5 days and wishing to continue that. I totally understand how one missed day turns into months, etc. Happy Blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

